making winter 2013

DSC_0008_15402 DSC_0012_15406 DSC_0013_15407 DSC_0024_15418 DSC_0026_15420 DSC_0040_15434

DSC_0043_15437 DSC_0047_15441 DSC_0032_15426

I had occasion this week to make a birthday cake for my love, Jay.  He requested a lemon layer cake, just like the one we had for our wedding, almost 19 years ago.  I set to work in the morning as soon as the kids were off to school.  I put on my stripy red apron, turned up my Edith Piaff pandora channel and started grating lemons.  I couldn’t have found a better way to combat a dull winter morning than making believe I was in Paris in the springtime, inhaling the citrus fragrance as I frolicked in the baker’s dust.  I was quite transported.

The cake I made was mostly from Smitten Kitchen who always steers me right when making something new.  (I made the frosting from another recipe which is a basic butter frosting.)  Her’s is a three layer cake but I decided to make mine a 2 layer and made a few cupcakes for the littles with the left overs.  I could hardly wait to try one and as soon as the lemon curd was ready I was ripping into a cupcake myself.  Oh my goodness, homemade lemon curd is ah.mah.zing.  The cake is rather wonderful too.  I think this might be my new go-to cupcake recipe.

And today is Valentine’s Day!  The kids have all their hundreds of cards to deliver to their little classmates.  I strung up a haphazardly made garland in the kitchen.  Jay and I have a date night tonight of dinner followed by a night at the theater (The Importance of Being Earnest).  I’m so excited to have this time with Jay.  It’s been ages since we went out.

Last picture is a progress report for the Business Casual sock KAL I’m doing with Kelly at Celtic Cast-on.  I’ve actually finished the first sock and am into the second.  I find as I near the end of the first sock I wonder how on earth I’ll find the staying power to start the second as I feel I lose steam, but as soon as that first sock is finished and on my foot I am rushing to cast on #2.  I really like knitting socks.  Must find kiddie sock pattern next me thinks.

So this was my Making Winter post.  I hope you will join me in Making Winter 2013 by showing us what you have been doing to make Winter a little better and warmer for you.  Click on the link below to join in.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That cake looks delicious!!! It’s so nice that you get some time with your husband tonight! Have so much fun!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!!
    Kate :}


I really appreciate hearing from you so go on, leave a comment.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

